Google announced a “Security update” for Drive to “make file sharing more secure.” This is part of a broader company-wide change that also affects YouTube and will take effect from September 13, 2021.
Shared links that were created before this date will likely not work anymore after the update has taken effect, depending on how the update is applied for your Google Drive account. Public shared links that look like:
will likely stop working. Google will require a specific resource key for most links in order to access the file. A new link will then look like:
This update will also affects Use-your-Drive:
- The preview and edit functionality of the plugin also make use of those links. As of Use-your-Drive version 1.17.9, the plugin is up to standard with the new security rules. Please make sure you are running the latest Use-your-Drive version.
- Previously created shared links or embedded documents can stop working. To resolve this, you will have to update the plugin to the latest version and recreate the shared link or re-embed the documents again.
All the other functionality of the plugin should not be affected. If you still encounter problems after the security update, please let us know by creating a support ticket!